Back to Basics- Almond Milk

Standard

Does anybody else get stressed out when reading new cookbooks? No? I guess it’s just me…it just seems there are so many flavor combinations out there and so little time. I used to feel the same way about novels, we only have 365 odd days in a year and there is no way I can read 365 books in that time. At least I can cook 900 or so meals!

The holidays were wonderful, Los Angeles was beautiful, and had bay area weather the entire time I was home. I went out with my friend Amanda and talked about food, it made me realize the things I take for granted, the simple recipes that should be taught in schools but instead we are kept blind. Today on Back to Basics (TM) I will be demonstrating how to make almond milk. Almond milk is delicious, nutritious and easy to make.

And contrary to popular belief, I do not have a lisp, I just have an awful camera. Stho whatever. (And there is nothing wrong with having a lisp!)

You will need:

Cheese Cloth or nut bag

1 cup raw almonds

water to cover + 4 cups

pinch of salt

1 tsp agave nectar or preferred sweetener

2 responses »

  1. I know! I miss notykin street in all its out of the wayness, i miss the stars! I got the chance to go to a farm yesterday. This farmer from the market told me that she was having her birthday at their farm so we trudged up there and enjoyed the beauty of marin county just north of the city! The stars were stunning, rolling hills, cow pies, and you could see the milky way! It was an adventure, I agreed to go back and work the farm for a week at the end of the month!

Leave a Reply

